CR AND EXERCISE.

Guest claraga

Guest claraga

I´m a newbie CR entusiast and have a question: is it possible to combine both calorie restriction diet and exercise? If so, the amount of calories I spend during the exercise must be added to the total amount of calories of my daily needs and, after that, I will have to reduce of it 30%?

Thnaks, and sorry for any english mistakes (is isn´t my mother language :angry:

I´m a newbie CR entusiast and have a question: is it possible to combine both calorie restriction diet and exercise? If so, the amount of calories I spend during the exercise must be added to the total amount of calories of my daily needs and, after that, I will have to reduce of it 30%?

Thnaks, and sorry for any english mistakes (is isn´t my mother language :angry:

Hi Clara!

I've been practising CR since April, 1996. And I've been a vigorous exerciser since age 21 (I'm 74 now). I used to swim, but had a bad self-taught swimming style, and so developed sports injuries after 30+ years -- rotator cuff problems. So I switched to using the Elliptical Cross-Trainer with arm motion. I exercise 6 days a week, for one hour, at the top resistance on the gym equipment (latest Precor), and for a total distance of 5.1 miles or more.

This is a vigorous exercise -- it is mostly cardiovascular, but doing it at the top resistance applies some peripheral muscle strengthening as well (I feel that's needed, to prevent CR from eating away what skeletal muscles I have. My skeletal muscles are small, but strong).

It's hard to estimate how many calories are burned by the exercise -- Precor advertises a certain number, but posts that I've seen from Al Pater, from independent organizations that have tested the Precor, give a much smaller number. I believe the latter -- and simply ignore exercise when doing calorie computations.

Hope that helps,

-- Saul