Fish Consumption Reduces All-cause Mortality? - Maybe Not

All,

I'm not a big proponent of eating fish, being a vegan myself. But in the interest of presenting the fact, here is a new meta-analysis [1] from Al (thanks Al!) that seems to show eating more fish is associated with reduced all-cause mortality. Specifically, among the almost 700,000 subjects across 12 prospective cohort studies, those who ate the most fish were 6% less likely to die during the follow-up period than those who ate the least fish (RR=0.94, 95% confidence interval (CI): 0.90, 0.98; I(2)=39.1%, P=0.06). Here  from the full text is the forest plot of mortality risk across the 12 studies:

mYi7Udb.png

As you can see, for most of the studies the confidence interval spans the centerline, and several are actually right of center (higher death risk for fish eating). Nevertheless, the center of mass is left of center - meaning reduced mortality risk when the studies are all combined together. 

Before you get too excited Saul and other fish-eating enthusiasts, consider the following.The authors did several additional sensitivity analyses to see how much the apparent benefits of eating fish depended on various factors. I think what they found was telling. Here is the table with the results, with a few items highlighted:

DgFOET7.png

What these sensitivity analyses show is that the mortality benefit of eating fish was attenuated to the point of being non-significant in:

• The six studies that were large (40,000+ subjects)
  • The six studies that had long follow-up periods (12+ years)
  • The four studies that compensated for differences in red meat intake between fish eaters and fish abstainers
  • The eight studies that compensated for differences in fruit and veggie intake between fish eaters and fish abstainers