Caloric or proteic restriction?

mccoy

I've been reading some threads in this forum but, aside from brief references, I wonder why there is not much discussion about the issue of proteic restriction, unless I missed something (I searched it in the forums though).

I'm also new to the field of longevity, so probably I need to grasp the whole conceptual framework.

From what I gathered in the last few months of delving into this novel topic to me.

There are some metabolic pathways which are activated by nutrients contained in cell tissues, especially so dietary aminoacids. 

Specifically, mTOR is particularly sensitive to Leucine and IGF-1 to methionine. These metabolic sensors, if triggered, start a cascade of cellulare metabolic reactions which are as a whole unfavourable to longevity. For example, mTOR favours growth to the expense of the cellular mechanisms of maintenance and repair. Allegedly paving the way to degenerative diseases and cancer.

Hence, it would make sense to restrict proteins. Restriction is meant as meeting the minimum individual requirement without starving (loosing muscle mass). What is a minimum individual requirement is not easy to define, since minimum requirement is a random variable.

the IIS is also a glucose sensor, but now I'm focusing on proteins.

Any comments on the above? Are you guys practicing any protein restriction strategy and specific Leu+Met or other aminos restriction?

Please note that the general proteins RDA value of 0.8 g/kg ideal weight/day is not a restriction for about 95% of the population (it is the 97.5 %-ile of the statistical distribution of the minimum requirements).

I'll later post the WHO, 2002 statistical distribution used to define the RDA, which is a cautious value, hence usually not a restriction.

• Replies 66
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Specifically, mTOR is particularly sensitive to Leucine and IGF-1 to methionine.