New forum member here

Pryme

Hi all,

I am new but have browsed the forum for awhile.

I became interested in longevity and have read 4 books about centenarians and super centenarians.

I have added so many new foods to my diet over the last year and eliminated a lot of garbage, with more work to do.

I cut all soda 2 years ago, milk about a year ago and have drastically cut meat and cheese.

Things I've added based on research have been local raw honey, bee pollen, blueberries, spirulina, wheat grass, curcumin, grape seed extract, extra virgin olive oil, mixed nuts, tons of greens and other vegetables etc etc. I feel better than ever.

I'm 39yrs old. 6'1" and 191lbs. That puts my bmi over 25, "overweight" but I have been lifting weights for over 2 decades. I am pretty lean. About 11-12% body fat would be a honest good guess. I wear 32x32 pants comfortably.

With that said, I do want to get down to about 180 or so.

I do not lift weights as heavy as I have in the past as I'm to a point it is not what I want for future longevity and has become harder on my body.

I recently ordered the book "The longevity diet" so looking forward to reading that.

I have been on CR for only a week. Doing 16:8 And it's been very easy. I go 18hrs some days. I usually fast from 10pm to around 2 or 3pm.

According to the TDEE calculators I need 2,940 cals a day to maintain. I am pretty active. 2.5-3+ mi fast walks a day not to mention all the walking I do at work. 30k plus steps a week at work alone.

3k cals seems very high considering I've read and watched plenty of things stating 1,600 to 1,900 cals a day being the norm in places with the longest lived people.

Any advice is welcome!

Hey Pryme! Welcome to the forum. :)

Have you had any blood work done yet? It's a good idea to do that at the beginning of starting CR, just so you know where you are and then you can track the improvements as you continue the diet. Also, take it slow, there's no rush to lose weight... = )