Mycotoxins and aflatoxins in cereals/pseudocereals

Hi CRsociety OGs, 

I'm relatively new to this quest, but came across some unsettling findings that indicate many of the cereals and pseudocereals consumed contain carcinogenic compounds (from fungal infections) like mycotoxins and aflatoxins. What can I do to minimize consumption of these and what are your strategies employed to do as such? 

Hey Saul, 

Thanks for your comment. I only CR up to 5%, but try my best to protein restrict (keep protein less than 15% of total calories). As such, cereals make it sort of easy, as the ones I consume (steel-cut oats, colored quinoa, black rice) tend to be lower in protein (10-14%) and generally have low-medium GIs (40 to 55). I have trouble eating large amounts of food (and I time restrict eat, my window is 6-8 hours per day), so it being a little calorically dense makes things a bit easier. 

Sodium doesn't appear to an issue thankfully, as I only consume it in whole grain and not pasta/bread form. The lack of nutrient denseness (at least compared to beans) is a problem, but I hope to make up for it for certain phytonutrients. 

Ghost, are the reports you read reliable? Paleo people presently are demonizing some plant based foods like fruit and cereals. Of course there is a risk that some batch with higher than the threshold  legal concentrations of aflatoxins makes it to the market. The providers would risk criminal charges this way though.

AFAIK, a serious issue seems to be with inorganic arsenic in rice, so you might want to check its consumption.