omad breakfast lunch or dinner

bao

Hi Bao, 

Welcome to the CR forums. 

I've been eating a single meal per day in the morning for about 5 years now and I am quite happy with the practice. There is evidence that getting the bulk of your calories in the morning improves the circadian rhythm of many metabolic processes, as discussed here, and illustrated in the diagram :

QcImBVl.png

Note: night is the active period for rodents, so restricting them to night feeding is like daytime feeding for humans. 

--Dean 

My experience is that the benefits, or the detriments, are specific to specific individuals. In my case, contrary to other members of this forum. a single daily meal would be highly deleterious, resulting in a bloated stomach and conspicuos tachycardia.

The gallstones hazard is cited by Longo, a possible mechanism being the concentration and precipitation of mineral salts in the bile when stagnating.

Welcome Sjors!

25 minutes ago, Sjors said:

I'm wondering what your daily meal generally looks like. Don't you need to eat a lot of food (quantity) in one sitting to reach the RDIs?

Yes I do eat a lot of food in my one meal a day, especially since I exercise a lot. There is a thread devoted to my unusual diet, complete with CRON-O-Meter profile and photos

Although that thread is from a few years ago, my one meal hasn't changed much since then except:

1. I don't weigh my food anymore - too much trouble.
  2. I stopped growing my own sprouts.
  3. I've kicked my durian addiction, except on special occasions when I visit the Asian market.
  4. I only eat a single banana, rather than three.

--Dean

29 minutes ago, Dean Pomerleau said:

Welcome Sjors!

Yes I do eat a lot of food in my one meal a day, especially since I exercise a lot. There is a thread devoted to my unusual diet, complete with CRON-O-Meter profile and photos

Although that thread is from a few years ago, my one meal hasn't changed much since then except: