REQUEST TO GUIDE IN OPTIMIZING NUTRITION

Amar

Hello all. Newbie here. I have been a vegan for nearly 3 years now. Joined in a fitness forum that advocates calorie restriction for weightloss. Weighed around 91 kgs in January 2022. Maintained a deficit of about 15to20pc from TDEE and a little resistance training and came down to 79kgs (not reached my BMI/bodyfat goal). I could maintain macros at the levels prescribed by that forum however, I realised my nutrition was not optimal.I found deficiencies in intake (around 70 to 80pc) of Calcium , Zinc, a few of the B-Vitamins (except B12 -being supplemented). How do I go about addressing this issue? Is supplementation fine for these? I have gone through the page for supplementation for vegetarians on this forum, but when can I resort to supplementation? I have tried optimizing my diet in many ways but it would be deficient in atleast one nutrient. Plese guide.

https://www.longecity.org/forum/stacks/stack/122-michaels-tiered-supplement/

Read this.  You need to keep track of what you eat using software; one option is the free chronometer app which is simple to use, then supplement only what you require to correct deficiencies.

Zinc and B-vitamins I believe can generally be safely supplemented, but calcium from supplements as compared to getting it from food sources seems create some possible concerns.  I would encourage you to read up on calcium supplements; they have been discussed on these forums.

Thank you very much for the response. I am on free version of cronometer. Thus found out my intakes were deficient. I have gone through the link you have posted. I am also looking for some vegan diet charts for reference. Facing a little difficulty in using the search option on this forum. I shall read more as you suggested. Thanks once again.

On 5/23/2022 at 6:41 AM, Amar said: