Does CR keeps you looking younger?

tanuki

The question for the people who consistently practiced CR for at least 10,15 years - do  you really look significantly younger than healthy-conscious people at your age?
I know it is a small group to make conclusion but looking at people who practiced it for many years like David Fisher, Micheal Rae ( I believe) or Roy Walford they are pretty much looking close to their age and they certainly don't look like the were aging slower by 30-40% as Roy's once assumed.

Hi!

I began practicing CR in April, 1996; so about 26 years.  I don't think that my physical appearance is much better than others my age.  But, I still teach mathematics full time at the University of Rochester, as I have been doing since 1974.

I don't think that CR is a beauty treatment.

😉

--  Saul

3 hours ago, Saul said:

Hi!

I began practicing CR in April, 1996; so about 26 years.  I don't think that my physical appearance is much better than others my age.  But, I still teach mathematics full time at the University of Rochester, as I have been doing since 1974.

I don't think that CR is a beauty treatment.

😉

--  Saul

My wife (who is 14 1/2 years younger than I am) disagrees.  She says that I look a few years younger than my chronological age.  (So foes she.)

🙂

--  Saul

Apparently most of the skin damages comes from external factors, especially uv rays. I would expect though to see some slowdown in skin cell ageing, skin thickness and balding/graying out, at least that much should be affected by CR. I know that being very thin can make people looking actually older but I am still surprised how little effect CR seem to have on longterm practicioners. Although it's only appearance it sometimes makes me thinking that Roy's assumption about potential benefits of CR on lifespan (extra 30-40 %) was hiperoptimistic.

On 6/20/2022 at 5:14 PM, tanuki said: