?Subtract exercise calories?

bobbuckley

Hi, folks,

I've been using cron-o-meter for a little over six months, and I have a question for experienced CRON folks.

In calculating your total calorie intake for the day, do you or do you not count the negative calories

produced by exercise?

For instance, if you want to keep daily calories to 1400, and your daily recorded exercise has burned 600 calories,

do you replace the 600 calories by eating more - leading to a total daily intake of 2000 calories - or do you just stick with

the total intake of 1400 calories and pat yourself on the back for the exercise?

Bob

Thanks, Bob.
To be clear, many others have been at this for 10 years or (much) more, dating back to Walford's first publications in the late '80s.

One bit of advice; I've learned that consistency over the long-term is easier than intense (but brief) struggles to be as "CR'ed" as possible. My hunch is that there is an extremely high rate of drop-out for CR. There are names in the archives that have disappeared over the years. Remember, you're going to want to stick with this for the rest of your life to get the most out of it.
I'm betting that a little CR (and good, vegetable-rich diet) goes a long way.

• 2 weeks later...

Surprisingly, many CR folks who have dropped off the list are still practicing CR. It seems to me that folks use our support until they are able to stand alone and get back to their regular evening activities instead of spending hours reading the CR email lists and forums. I contacted several many years ago who were once active posters to the email lists wondering if they gave up CR. They had not. Some take time off from the lists and return after a period. Saul Lubkin and Dean Pomerleau are examples.