CR practice when you're out

Alby

Hi everybody,

I've been following the CRON diet for quite a long time now, and depending on the stress I have (I'm a female medical student) it doesn't always work perfectly. I have noticed that whenever I track my calories and nutrients via the CRON-O-Meter it's quite easy for me to stick to my diet plan and to not overeat. But every time I can't eat at home, bring my own food or put it on a scale I just can't handle the question how to proceed with my plan the time I come home. For example, if I ate a meal at a restaurant with quite a lot of meat (more than the maximum of about 45-50g I would eat per day), I would try to estimate the exact amount I've eaten (just because I have to - can't imagine to enter a restaurant with a scale...) and then notice via CRON-O-Meter that I totally exceeded the maximum protein requirement for that day. So - just to stick to my diet - I would have to do without my favourite (and already planned) dinner for that day which would make me feel quite uneasy - a mood that can make me overeat and so totally ruin my calorie intake for that day (or even the following ones).

In the past, I've already tried to become as flexible as possible by eating only one large meal a day (about 900kcal, usually in the evening when I'm home) and, after a workout (usually at lunch time), a self-made, very superfood-rich shake to go which I can take everywhere (about 400-500kcal). But there's still the possibility that I'm going out for dinner or that I go on a trip for several days (that's what my social life somehow requires) - so what am I supposed to do when I can't always bring my scale everywhere? How do you handle these situations? Do you stick to your diet when you're out or are those days exceptions? And how do you handle those possible exceptions mentally by not loosing all of your control?

Thank you for your advice and sorry for my bad English (I'm German...)!

Regards,

Alby