vegetarian new to cron and need help

carole

hi

i am new to cron just seen tv documentary in the uk and am so taken by the science behind it i want to know more and to try it for myself.

my problem is i am a vegetarian and dont know where to start with this, is there a simple guide that will tell me what to eat or give me recipies until i have the time to properly work things out.

please anyone all help appreciated

thanks carole

hi

i am new to cron just seen tv documentary in the uk and am so taken by the science behind it i want to know more and to try it for myself.

my problem is i am a vegetarian and dont know where to start with this, is there a simple guide that will tell me what to eat or give me recipies until i have the time to properly work things out.

please anyone all help appreciated

thanks carole

You can start by weighing & recording everything you currently eat for two weeks. Many people record their info in www.cronometer.com, but there are other options. Another thing is to get a set of medical tests to use as a base line before you start to change your diet. Once you've done these two things, then you're ready to start.

CRON has 2 basic rules to follow: 1) get all of your recommended nutrients in your diet and 2) reduce your calories by 10 - 30% from what a nice thin version of yourself would normally eat.

Vegetarian is not a problem on a CRON diet. I recommend eating 9 - 12 different veggies each day. Also limit grains and use the calories to eat veggies, fruit or nuts instead. The exact number of calories you need to eat is up to you to decide, but depends on your height, body shape and activity levels. What you eat for protein is up to you, but many people here recommend limiting consumption to about 0.8 g/day/kg of body weight because high protein diets are suspected of blocking the benefits of CR. So for example, I weight 70 kg and so my limit for protein is 70 * 0.8 = ~56 g per day of protein.